## **Brief History of NAMTA**

Norman Area Music Teachers Association (NAMTA) was formerly Norman Independent Piano Teachers Association (NIPTA)

NIPTA was formed in 1989 by three independent piano teachers: Laurie McCullough, Judy Reeves, and Sylvia Ryan.

NIPTA had an eleven-year history in Norman as a non-profit professional and service organization for independent piano teachers; some members were students or faculty at the University of Oklahoma School of Music.

Prior to the NAMTA Fall Festival, NIPTA sponsored a yearly multi-piano "Monster Concert" in which teachers performed.

NIPTA also sponsored a student Honors Recital, Mall marathon, and Music Camp Scholarship Audition; these programs continue today through NAMTA.

NIPTA affiliated with MTNA in 2000 under the leadership of President Steve Sewell, thereby opening its membership to teachers of all musical instruments and disciplines.

During its first year of existence, NAMTA hosted the annual OMTA State Conference in Norman in June of 2000 at OU. NAMTA again hosted the OMTA Conference in June 2006 and assisted in June 2018.

## **NIPTA Presidents**

Judy Reeves (1989-1990) Sylvia Ryan (1990-1992) Judy Reeves (1992-1993) Claudia Busse (1993-1996) Sylvia Ryan (1996-1998) Judy Reeves (1998-1999) Steve Sewell (1999-2000)

## **NAMTA Presidents**

Steve Sewell (2000-2003) Cindy Jarboe (2003-2004) Sylvia Ryan (2004-2006) Cindy Jarboe (2006-2008) Steve Sewell (2008-2010) Mary Sallee (2010-2012) Janet Romanishin (2013-2016) Jennifer Walschap (2016-2018) Cindy Pullin (2018-2021)